Skip to main content
Skip to navigation

External scholarships and fellowships

All qualifying students

  • Margaret McNamara Memorial Fund — This grant supports the education of women from developing countries who are committed to improving the lives of women and children in developing nations. Previous grant recipients studied agriculture, architecture and urban planning, civil engineering, education, forestry, journalism, nursing, nutrition, pediatrics, public administration, public health, social sciences and social work.
  • Dr. Gombojab Hangin Memorial Scholarship — This scholarship is to be given to a student of Mongolian heritage, defined as an individual of Mongolian ethnic origin, who has permanent residency in Mongolia, the People's Republic of China or the former Soviet Union to pursue studies in the United States. The amount of the award may be up to $2,400. The award does not include transportation from the recipient's country to the U.S., nor does it include board and lodging at the university where the recipient will study. The recipient will receive the scholarship monies in one lump sum after enrollment in the scholarship holder's institution in the United States.
  • Instituto Brasil-Estados Unidos (IBEU) — IBEU's chief aim is to strengthen and intensify cultural relations between Brazil and the United States. IBEU has a scholarship program and provides educational advising on courses of study in the U.S. Open to students from Brazil.
  • Rotary International Ambassadorial Scholarship Program — The Ambassadorial Scholarship Program is designed to further international understanding and friendly relations among people of different countries. The Academic-Year scholarship is for one regular academic year (usually nine months) of full-time study at an institution assigned by the Rotary Foundation Trustees. Applicants must have completed at least two years of university or college course work, or must have a secondary school education and have been employed in a recognized vocation for at least two years when the scholarship begins. All applicants must be citizens of a country in which there is a Rotary club. Applicants must initially apply through a Rotary club located in the area of their legal or permanent residence, or place of full time
    study or employment.

Graduate students

  • American Association of University Women — International Fellowships are awarded for full-time study or research to women who are not US citizens or permanent residents. Both graduate and postgraduate study at accredited institutions are supported. Applicants must have earned the equivalent of a US bachelor's degree, and must have applied to their proposed institution of study by the time of application. Selection criteria include an outstanding academic record, professional potential, and the potential of the field of study to improve lives of women and girls in the country of origin. Preference is given to women residing in their home countries at the time of application.
  • International Peace Scholarship Fund — Provides grants for selected women from other countries for graduate study in the United States and Canada. An applicant must be qualified for admission to full-time graduate study and working toward a graduate degree in the college or university of her choice in the United States or Canada. In order to qualify for her first scholarship, an applicant must have a full year of classwork remaining and be enrolled on campus the entire year. Open to all nationalities.
  • Andrew W. Mellon Fellowships — The Andrew W. Mellon Fellowships in Humanistic Studies are designed to help exceptionally promising students prepare for careers of teaching and scholarship in humanistic disciplines. The Mellon Foundation is a competitive award for first-year doctoral students. Fellows may take their awards to any accredited graduate program in the United States or Canada. The Fellowship covers graduate tuition and required fees for the first year of graduate study and includes a stipend of $17,500. Scores from the general test of the Graduate Record Examination (GRE) are required. Open to all nationalities.
  • World Bank Graduate Scholarship Program — The World Bank Graduate Scholarship Program (WBGSP) for graduate studies in subjects related to economic development. The program awards scholarships to individuals from World Bank member countries to undertake graduate studies at universities renowned for their development research and teaching. The objective of these programs is to prepare the participants for effective policy making roles in their home countries and regions. Recipients are expected to return to their home country at the conclusion of their studies to apply their enhanced knowledge and skills to help accelerate the pace of economic and social development. Scholarships are available to applicants who intend to pursue a career in development.
  • King Faisal Foundation Scholarships — King Faisal Foundation is a global philanthropic organization inspired by Islamic values. In addition to its other philanthropic activities, the King Faisal Foundation provides grants for individuals and communities and aids Muslim students in their studies in engineering, science, and medicine. Another important aspect of the Foundation's work is the funding of a scholarship program allowing outstanding Muslim students the opportunity to undertake post-graduate studies at the universities of their choice. Open to students from Saudi Arabia.
  • Organization of American States — The objective of the Organization of American States (OAS) Scholarships and Training Programs is to assist the Member States with their domestic efforts in pursuit of integral development goals by supporting human resource development in the priority areas established by the Summits of the Americas. Graduate fellowships are are offered for study towards a Master's or Doctorate degree. They may also be used for graduate research, if required by a specific academic program. Scholarships are awarded for an initial period of one academic year and may be renewed subsequently for up to one additional year if funds remain available and if the renewal is necessary to complete the program of study or research for which the scholarship was initially awarded. The OAS/DHDEC does not offer scholarships for studies in the medical sciences and the learning of new languages.  Applicants must be Be citizens or permanent residents of an OAS member state.

Undergraduate students

  • Armenian Students Associationexternal link — ASA scholarships are available to applicants who: are of Armenian ancestry; are enrolled as a full time student at a four-year accredited college or university in the U.S.; and have completed at least the first year of college. Awards are based on financial need, academic performance, ability for self-help, and participation in extracurricular activities.
  • Organization of American Statesexternal link — Undergraduate OAS scholarships are offered only to candidates from the English-speaking Caribbean member states, for the last two years of study leading to an undergraduate degree (Bachelor’s degree or its equivalent). Scholarships are awarded for an initial period of one academic year and may be renewed subsequently for up to one additional year if funds remain available and if the renewal is necessary to complete the program of study or research for which the scholarship was initially awarded.