International Engagement Reception

Nov. 21, 2019

During International Education Week, students, faculty and staff were awarded for their contributions toward the global exchange here at Mizzou and beyond. During the International Engagement Reception, we recognized the recipients of the 2019 International Engagement Award and spring 2020 Bond International Scholars Award.

Bond International Scholars Award

Grace, pictured left, John pictured right, stand in front of a white-stone wall.
Grace Miller, right, and John Lane-Watson, left.

Two students received this prestigious scholarship for study abroad during spring 2020. This award is made possible by a generous endowment from the friends of retired U.S. Senator Christopher S. “Kit” Bond, in honor of his exemplary public service. The scholarship provides $5,000 awards to MU undergraduate or graduate students studying abroad for a semester or academic/calendar year.

Grace Miller is studying at Lincoln University in Lincoln, New Zealand, for the spring semester. She is an agricultural education major with an emphasis in teacher certification. Her career goals are to teach agriculture with a global scale mindset and shape her students into capable leaders. She sees this experience as a way to widen her knowledge-base and better herself for her future students and colleagues.

John Lane-Watson is studying abroad for the spring semester at Seoul National University in Seoul, South Korea. He is a music major, and has always held a potent passion for all types of music and different cultures of the world. His mission is to discover how music and culture relate and interact on a global scale and use the knowledge as a means of connecting people.

International Engagement Awards

The MU International Engagement Awards recognize the outstanding work of faculty, staff and students to internationalize the University of Missouri. The following recipients were selected for 2019 by the Council on International Initiatives based on several criteria. To read full bios, visit the International Engagement Awards page.

Five award recipients hold their plaques and stand alongside the directors.
2019 International Engagement Award recipients

Outstanding student contribution

  • Tipparat Udmuangpia, doctoral student in nursing
  • Julia Coelho, master’s student in musicology and vocal performance (2018 recipient, recognized this year)

Outstanding staff contribution

  • Victoria Bryan, Interdisciplinary Plant Group
  • Li Yang, School of Journalism International Programs

Outstanding faculty contribution

  • Dr. Kerry Clark, director of CAFNR International Programs and assistant research professor of rural sociology, College of Agriculture, Food and Natural Resources